Subscribe to RSS Feed

12|17|2012 04:24 pm EDT

ICANN new gTLD Prioritization Lottery Draw – General Information

by Frank Michlick in Categories: new gTLDs

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Some quick information regarding the ICANN new gTLD Prioritization Lottery Draw, which happens shortly:
  • 1766 tickets were sold, 92% of applications (1920 total)
  • First draw is for IDN applicants (108 out of 116 applications purchased tickets)
  • Second draw for non-IDN applicants
  • Third draw for the remainder of applications that did not purchase a ticket (142)
The proceeds of $176,600 for the ticket sales will go to the following three charities:
  1. Kiva Microfunds
  2. Invenio
  3. Wikimedia Foundation

The draw has not yet commenced, apparently due to a “power outage”. Official reason is a “glitch”. For a while it appears that the audio of one of the remote participants was audible through the stream.

 

12|17|2012 03:38 pm EDT

Watch the ICANN new gTLD Lottery Draw

by Frank Michlick in Categories: new gTLDs

Tags: , , , , ,

And here’s where to watch the ICANN new gTLD lottery draw live today – either via the embedded stream below, or you can also watch it directly on Ustream or via Adobe Connect. The draw is expected to start at 4pm EST, 1pm PST which is 21:00 UTC.



Streaming live video by Ustream